The Scent of Rain and Lightning by Nancy Pickard

 

 

scent

I am trying to get back on track after having a disappointing few reading months in February and March.  I would love to beat my last year’s book total of 141 to 150 if possible….it will mean a few more sacrifices to get there.  I finished this book over the weekend.  My BookClub, The Reading Cove has theme read challenge every month.  This month’s challenge is to select a read containing the word “Rain” in its title.  Since this has been in my TBR pile for awhile now,  I gave it a go…
This is my first time reading Nancy Pickard and I will be back for more….I enjoyed her writing style; not too heavy and the pages quickly turned for me.   The plot line is a solid one with many likeable characters.  I loved the fact the story was set on a ranch with descriptive scenery that made me feel like I lived in the town of Rose, Kansas.
 
Since this is a murder mystery, I won’t give away too many clues which would spoil the book for others.  Suffice to say, I was surprised and disappointed a bit in the ending. 
 
One relationship with seemed too contrived for me and made me wonder if the author chose tying up the loose ends over taking some more time developing an alternative way out in getting them tied up.
 
This would be a good choice for a Book Club read!

 

About formangirl

Married and Mom to two my sweet boys Alexander and Noah. Also FurMom to Rocky the Pug. Avid Family Historian and Scrapbooker.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

