Oh the Books I love to read….

Although it is great to “come home” to authors I have read in the past, I seem to be filling my reading “dance card” with authors new to me.  There are so many talented authors out there and certainly not enough time to find and read them all!

Last week I finished two great books.  Complete opposites in writing style and topic, however both enjoyable!  The first was an author and book I have been meaning to read, but other books kept bumping it down in my queue.  The book was “The One Left Behind” by Jennifer McMahon. theoneleftbehindA great Murder Mystery which transitions back and forth over a period of twenty years as the reader learns about the Serial Killer Neptune.  A great Beach or Vacation read!  I will definitely be checking out her other books in the future!

My next read for the week was the monthly pick for my Reading group- The Cove!  It is “Someone Knows My Name: A Book of Negroes” by Lawrence Hill.  I have never heard of either the book or the author, but boy I am happy to have found both!   This story is undoubtedly the best I have read in 2013 so far.  Inspirational only begins to describe the stoey of Aminata Diallo and her struggles through slavery in the late 1700’s.  Her story will amaze you, thrill you and bring you to tears as you cheer her on towards her journey of freedom.

Read it, devour it, you will be changed after reading it!  I highly recommend it.

someone

 

 

About formangirl

Married and Mom to two my sweet boys Alexander and Noah. Also FurMom to Rocky the Pug. Avid Family Historian and Scrapbooker.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

