What is on your Kindle?

It was a pretty good reading week for me…I was able to complete three books and with even that I am below my monthly goal.

I received six review requests this week and it is great to experience so many new authors with great talent.

Here is what I finished…

Tell Me Your Dreams by Sidney Sheldon

Image

Sidney is a great storyteller…

I just finished this read for one of my Reading Groups. I have read many books by Sheldon over several decades. This one has the same feeling of mystery and intrigue, characters who have a level of complexity to them and a great murder twist…Although I prefer some of the others by him over this, if you are a fan and haven’t yet scooped this up, consider it and bring yourself back to the late 80’s!

The Kitchen Daughter by Jael McHenry

Image

Great story and a joy to read…

I just finished this for my Reading Group and what a pleasure to read! This book is quick, to the point and once you meet Ginny you will be hooked. Written as a narrative, you get a glimpse into the life of Ginny Salveggio, a recently orphaned young woman dealing with the death of her two beloved parents. This story has interesting characters, several interesting plot lines and a twist of the paranormal. Ginny has some special behavioral needs (which I won’t divulge here) which made the story a learning experience for me. In addition, Ginny who has a love of cooking and a special relationship with food, cooks up a storm! This story speaks to healing a family through the sudden loss of the parents, an understanding of two sisters whose love for each other tests the boundaries of their relationship and special friends who come into their lives to teach them life goes on. The only reason I didn’t rate this book 5 stars was because of a few oversights which I think would have enriched the story. One was her relationship with David. I was thrilled when a man came into Ginny’s life and was hopeful. I wish they would have completed the story with Ginny finishing school and branching out into the world. She had so much potential and we were only allowed a glimpse into her. And thirdly, I waited for the end of the book hoping the family recipes Ginny cooked were there…and I was sadly disappointed! I immediately went out and searched out a recipe for Ribbolita! I will definitely be looking for more books from this author.

This Is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper

Image

This family put the “D” in dysfunction…

This was my first read by Jonathan Tropper. The first 100 pages had be intrigued, shocked and amazed at how one family could have that much craziness and dysfunction. The middle sagged a bit for me, maybe because I was looking for some light at the end of a long tunnel. The last third picked up with many witty and poignant moments. All in all a good read. I will try the author out again to see if it this is his typical writing style or it was this particular theme.
About formangirl

Married and Mom to two my sweet boys Alexander and Noah. Also FurMom to Rocky the Pug. Avid Family Historian and Scrapbooker.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

