Flavor Is Bigger In Texas…

homesick

I was excited to finally get my hands on this new and jam packed full of goodness cookbook by Lisa Fain.  Having never actually been to Texas, I depend on true Southeners to provide these traditional, tried and true recipes allowing me to eat vicariously through them.
This is my second Southern cookbook and I already have turned my family into “Food Southerners”!  This book is the perfect size 10×7.5 inches and not so heavy that it is a chore to dig out.  The pages are of nice high glossy quality so the scrumptious illustrations really jump out at you.
Filled with sections devoted to Breakfast & Breads, Starters & Snacks, Salads & Sides, Chili’s, Soups & Stews, The Main Event and Sweets and Accompaniments.
Selecting one of my favorites from each category, here goes.  From Breakfast & Breads, there are so many choices but the Cranberry-Gruyere Scones picqued my curiosity and my taste buds.  In Starters & Snacks, the Choriqueso Dip has me drooling… I can’t wait for this week’s Sunday Football game!  Sides & Salads offers this refreshing recipe for Tomato, Cucumber and Peach Salad topped with crumbled Queso Fresco…a great way to utilize those extra summer vegetables. Also the Cowboy Baked Beans are equally calling out to me. In the Chili’s & Stews category, a must try is the Chipotle Chicken & Dumplings.  For Main Event selections, with so many to choose from, I love the Michelada Flank Steak Tortas with Poblano-Buttermilk dressing.  After I awake from my Southern Food coma, and have room for dessert, I might just happen to try the Mexican Chocolate Cake.  Now I need a nap and bigger pants!  This is a cookbook worth adding to your collection even for this New Englander.
From beloved food blogger Lisa Fain, aka the Homesick Texan, comes this follow-up to her wildly popular debut cookbook, featuring more than 125 recipes for wonderfully comforting, ingredient-driven Lone Star classics that the whole family will love.

There are few things finer than a delicious, homemade meal shared with family and friends. Take it from Lisa Fain, a seventh-generation Texan who loves to cook and serve up the best dishes her home state has to offer—even though she now lives half a country away.
“I received this book from Blogging for Books for this review.”
About formangirl

Married and Mom to two my sweet boys Alexander and Noah. Also FurMom to Rocky the Pug. Avid Family Historian and Scrapbooker.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

