A Great Little Book About My Favorite Bird!

owls

I recently finished both a sweet and informative book on Owls.  Yes, I took a break from my Mysteries, Fiction and Memoirs to get back in touch with my “Nature” side and I am happy I did!
In Matt Sewell’s latest: Owls: Our Most Charming Bird, I learned more about the Owl species than I ever knew possible.  This book, although relatively small, is compact and carries an encyclopedic array of handpainted Owls which both teach and entertain the reader.
Always wise and majestic, the Owl species is categorized into four groups: Woodland, Tropical, Wilderness and Desert Owls.  Within these groups are between 10-12 different types.  Who knew??? Or should I say Hoot?
The illustrations are very stunning and a unique choice as they are hand drawn not stock photography.
The reading, although it reads as nature/science book vs. a story, is brief per Owl type and is amusing as well as factual.
If Owls have always been of interest to you, I would take a chance on this little book.  It packs a punch!

About Owls

An enchanting illustrated guide to owl species of the world.

The owl is one of nature’s most captivating creatures. In this enchanting guide, artist Matt Sewell brings to life fifty species from around the world. From the adorable Eurasian Pygmy Owl, small enough to fit in your pocket, to the Great Gray Owl, celebrated for its size and elegance—these charming illustrations are sure to delight anyone intrigued by these wise and wonderful animals.

About Matt Sewell

MATT SEWELL is an avid ornithologist, regular contributor to the Caught by the River website, and the author of several other illustrated bird books. His work has been exhibited in London, Manchester, New York, Tokyo, and Paris.

*I received this book from Blogging for Books in exchange for a fair review.*

About formangirl

Married and Mom to two my sweet boys Alexander and Noah. Also FurMom to Rocky the Pug. Avid Family Historian and Scrapbooker.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

